God Bless the (curly) Child

I used to love this ad when I was little. Partly because it introduced me to the fabulous voice of Billie Holiday and partly because she was the first child I was aware of, with curly hair, that was officially, universally, cool.

(… though it was a little gutting to know that you could genuinely be a curly haired child and actually look cool, not have to sport the dubious “explosion in a mattress factory” mullet that my parents inflicted upon me).

As I got older, I loved it because it was just a great ad. It’s dated a bit now, as have I in 20 years I guess, but it still remains a classic TV ad from the time when TV ads actually worked.

PS – If you want a really good Billie Holiday song though, you should check this one out: Strange Fruit. One of the first anti-racism songs; it made me cry when I first heard it & really listened to the words. Brilliant, brilliant song.

One response to “God Bless the (curly) Child

  1. What are you like. Curly hair has always been cool. Since Shirley Temple. Farrah Fawcett? Wonder Woman? Who famous had straight hair? 🙂 My Missus has straight, but that’s not the point… 🙂

Leave a Reply

