Every day’s a school day

This week two things have got me thinking about learning & expertise and how one finally does enough of the former to become the latter, or at least consider themselves in that way.

The first was a colleague with less than a year’s experience trying to tell me how to do my job. Now, I absolutely do not know all that there is to know about marketing & advertising, but without tooting my own horn, I know a hell of a lot – believe it or not, I’m actually pretty shit hot at my job, even if I do say so myself. But this girl apparently knows it all though. Good for her I say. In the meantime, I shall continue to learn and evolve; much as the industry that I work in.

The second was this blog. I have no desire to become any kind blogging expert, that’s not why I did this, but it does sometimes feel as though there’s many a blogger out there with “expertise”, literally waiting to throw advice at you about how to make yours better, make you money, blah blah blah. Add to that the other bloggers out there that are positively brimming with judgement of others and the whole thing can be a more than a little bit intimidating.

(Don’t get me wrong, the vast majority of bloggers I’ve come into contact with have been nothing short of lovely, but as with anything else in life, there’s always some who will spoil it for others).

Anyway, I’ve been wracking my brains for something “worth” putting on my blog for a few days, determined as I am to have a decent crack at this. But because I’m a total novice I’ve found myself getting really nervous about it.

Until I thought about the aforementioned colleague and told myself to “cop on” and just get on with it. Essentially, I am not an expert in anything at all and I never will be either.

Like the tattoo I got last month says, “Still, I am learning” and I always will be.

Ancora Imparo

4 responses to “Every day’s a school day

  1. Oh, isn’t it so annoying when people try to advise you what to do with your blog?

Leave a Reply

